11 too-tastic books like The Spanish Love Deception

This content contains affiliate links. When you purchase through these links, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Books like The Spanish Love Deception are causing a stir in the romance world. Turns out people love a slow burn between enemies and lovers. And they love a fake dating story. Romances that revolve around other people’s weddings, especially in a lovingly described destination? Catnip for so many of us. Add a touch of romance to the workplace and the relationship dynamics become even more complex. If that wasn’t enough tropetasticness, you have to throw in a single bed. You just have to. Because with all those extravagant ingredients, you end up with the ultra supreme deluxe pizza from love books.

In The deception of Spanish love, Catalina Martín tells her family that she will bring her American boyfriend to her sister’s wedding in Spain. This boyfriend is purely imaginary until Aaron Blackford, the sworn enemy of Catalina’s office, inexplicably offers to intervene. Then they bicker until the quarrels turn into kisses. Readers looking The deception of Spanish love similar readings call for, by and large, contemporary romances that embrace the tropes. You could say that all romances rely on tropes to some degree, but there are certainly particular books that layer multiple tropes into something particularly delightful. I did my best to capture the facets of The deception of Spanish love that create the call. So whether you’re into weddings, fake dates, enemy romances, or work romances, I’ve got something for you.

books like The deception of Spanish love Located at weddings

The Wedding Date Disaster by Avery Flynn

As for the plot summary alone, The wedding date disaster is the closest among books like The deception of Spanish love. Hadley Donavan is traveling to Nebraska for her sister’s wedding, when her best friend’s evil twin shows up at the airport to be her plus one. That wasn’t the plan! Worse still, the handsome billionaire continues to drag her into the family activities she tries to avoid. Personally, I can’t resist a romance where a ruthless family game of Scrabble is a plot point.

Book cover of The Wedding Crasher by Mia Sosa

The Wedding Accident by Mia Sosa

Mia Sosa is among the elite writers who write truly funny and entertaining romantic comedies. The Marriage Breaker is no exception and has the biggest premise: Solange Pereira is blocking Dean Chapman’s wedding because she’s witnessed proof that her fiancé isn’t a good match. What can Dean do, except enlist Solange to be his fake girlfriend after this? It’s a romance that attracts opposites rather than a tale of foes to lovers, but the chemistry between Solange and Dean and the twisting plot are sure to delight.

books like The deception of Spanish love With fake encounters

cover of The Unhoneymooners by Christina Lauren

Christina Lauren’s Unhoneymooners

Anyone looking for books like The deception of Spanish love should look up Christina Lauren’s catalog. If you’re just diving, start with Non-honey. Olive and Ethan are the only two survivors after food poisoning wipes out an entire wedding party. Rather than let the honeymoon go to waste, Olive and Ethan agree to pose as the newlywed couple for a free trip to Maui. Olive and Ethan may be enemies, but once they arrive in this honeymoon sequel, everything changes.

Cover of Dating Dr. Dil by Nisha Sharma

Meet Dr. Dil by Nisha Sharma

Dating Dr Dil is the first in Nisha Sharma’s new series of Shakespearean works. It tackles The Taming of the Shrew, pairing the homebody Kareena with the love-loving Doctor Dil. He has a TV show and a TV argument between him and Kareena goes viral. In the absolute pinnacle of romance logic, the best solution to the problems this viral sensation creates for these haters is to fake a date. Except that’s never really wrong for Dr. Dil, whose feelings for Kareena were never steeped in the enmity that hers were.

cover of The Dating Playbook by Farrah Rochon

Farrah Rochon’s Dating Book

While I recommend The dating book precisely among these The deception of Spanish love similar readings, I also want you to read the first book in this series, The Boyfriend Project, which will allow you to become deeply invested in the characters of this series at lightning speed. But if you’re in a hurry, it works on its own. And there’s a fun twist to the fake dating setup: Jamar Dixon wants to train to get back into the NFL, but he doesn’t want anyone to know. Taylor Powell, a personal trainer, could use Jamar’s big salary. They fake a relationship to hide the formation, but we all know fake relationships are meant to get real. It is the science of romance.

books like The deception of Spanish love between enemies and lovers

cover image of Hold Me by Courtney Milan

Hold Me by Courtney Milan

Hold me is a story of enemies to lovers to savor. He has that You’ve got mail call, where two characters hate each other in real life but share an online correspondence that crackles with chemistry. Maria Lopez is a science blogger who protects her identity as a trans-Latina woman from her online audience; Jay na Thalang is a brilliant physics professor who corresponds with her. You might really hate Jay when you meet him, but stick with the story of this Courtney Milan magic. She can develop characters like no one else, and before long you’ll be rooting for this nerdy power couple. I mean come on, they’re flirting using math!

Classically Yours by Annabeth Albert Cover

Conventionally Yours by Annabeth Albert

If the travel aspect of The deception of Spanish love is part of the call, Conventionally yours will be your alley. In it, two mortal enemies, Aiden and Conrad, are traveling across the country for a gaming convention. There they will face off in the Odyssey gaming tournament. This forced closeness allows their animosity to turn into affection. Their relationship is slow, like Catalina and Aaron’s. Read this if the idea of ​​queer romance in gaming culture intrigues you.

cover of everything is better with lisa

Everything is better with Lisa by Lucy Eden

Cole and Lisa didn’t start off on the right foot. He showed up at his apartment drunk, mistaking it for his own. And Lisa met him with a baseball bat. Luckily, their relationship quickly turns around when Cole finds himself with custody of CJ, the little brother he’s never heard of. A secret baby is one of the tropes The deception of Spanish love didn’t, so you know I had to find another romance that embraced the tropes that incorporated it! Lisa then comes to the rescue of Cole and CJ – such a fun twist on this trope! Lisa and Cole also fake engagement during their romance, which manages to be incredibly sweet while still dealing with hard-hitting subject matter.

books like The deception of Spanish love With Workplace Romance

Cover of The Ex Talk by Rachel Lynn Solomon

Rachel Lynn Solomon’s Ex Speech

While we’re talking fun twists on tropes, The ex talking flips the fake relationship trope on its head by featuring two co-workers pretending to be exes. It’s not difficult, as radio producers Shay Goldstein and Dominic Yun are already going head-to-head. So they co-host a radio show providing relationship advice from the perspective of a failed couple. To like The deception of Spanish lovethis one is a slow burn, filled with nostalgia that will thrill you when it finally pays off.

guaranteed satisfaction coverage

Satisfaction guaranteed by Karelia Stetz-Waters

If you love a romance where the buttoned up and the freewheeler fall in love, look no further. In a delicious vanity that could only exist in a romance, Satisfaction guaranteed brings together two women who find themselves co-owners of a sex toy store. Because that’s how romance works – and thank goodness for romance! — Cade, our starchy character, got into the sex toy business because of an inheritance. A heritage ! Selena is on a sex hiatus, as she realized she had fallen into unhealthy patterns. But the two new colleagues have to figure out how to work together and oops, too bad for that sex break.

Coverage of

The Chef’s Kiss by TJ Alexander

Fans of culinary novels are having a blast with the recent bonanza of the sub-genre. And yes, The deception of Spanish love there are similar readings with a gourmet flair. When a respected cookbook publisher turns to video, recipe developer Simone Larkspur is unwittingly thrust into the limelight. Then obnoxious test kitchen manager Ray Lyton goes viral with a homebrew video. Simone and Ray are therefore forced to work together to remedy Simone’s less than stellar screen performance. It’s a slow burn of enemies to lovers in the workplace that also explores Ray’s process of coming out as non-binary. If, like me, you are a veteran Enjoy your meal fan, this book will remind you of the good times in the best way.


I’m very confident that there are books like The deception of Spanish love on this list you are sure to love. Nevertheless, there may be a feature of this book that you like that I overlooked. If so, one of Tailored Book Recommendations’ dedicated librarians can help you find books that meet your most specific wishes. When it comes to all the ingredients you want on your personal romantic pizza, they can help you find the pie you crave.

a gif with the text: Bespoke Book Recommendations: Real book nerds make bespoke recommendations that are really, really good

About Joey J. Hott

Check Also

New Books For July 2022 That Could Be Your Next Beach Read

Summer is the perfect time to read by the pool or on the commuter train …